Cosmic Connections
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

No dig garden patch

4 posters

Go down

No dig garden patch Empty No dig garden patch

Post  me2u Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:34 am

Hi All,
I have been building my no-dig patch for about 3 years now with some degree of success I am pondering over whether I should add some trace elements to improve the beds and if so how much and what method of application would be best suited to no-dig situation.
My biggest failure has been Garlic which we both love but sadly crop failure after crop failure so I have given up on trying to grow garlic.Trying to growing garlic it has been an expensive exercise I followed all the advice to no avail I reckon I would have spent $200 just on bulbs from various suppliers across au .
All my other vege's grew well.
Cheers J Smile

me2u

Back to top Go down

No dig garden patch Empty Re: No dig garden patch

Post  Raymondo Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:15 pm

I'd add seaweed extract. It has a number of trace elements. If you wanted to add something like the Manutec trace elements, I'd consider making a quick compost solution and add the trace elements to this before pouring it onto the garden. The reason is that the humates in the compost solution will act as a kind of chelating agent for the minerals and theyll be in a form better suited to plants.

Odd that your garlic fails. Where are you? When do you sow?

Raymondo
Big Bopper!
Big Bopper!

Back to top Go down

Post  guzzigirl Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:41 pm

are you trying to grow your garlic in the no dig bed? I think they prefer regular soil to the high organic content of a no dig.
guzzigirl
guzzigirl
Big Bopper!
Big Bopper!

Back to top Go down

Post  me2u Fri Jun 13, 2008 4:54 am

Hi Ray & Guzzigirl,
I think G'girl may be onto it with the garlic not being happy in the NDG .
Ray I planted the past attempts as recommended around March as per moon guide for our area Brisbane sub tropo